Sunday, June 29, 2008

Generation Dead

"Phoebe is just your typical goth girl with a crush. He's strong and silent... and DEAD."

written by: Daniel Waters

pages: 400

my rating 1-5 stars:

5 stars!

Because I really liked the summary on the back of the book, I am not going to make my own. The summary you see below is on the back cover of Generation Dead by Daniel Waters.

All over the country, a strange phenomenon is occuring. Some teenagers who die aren't staying dead. Termed "Living impaired" or "differently biotic", they are doing their best to fit into a society that doesn't want them.
Fitting in is hard enough when you don't have the look or attitude, but when almost everyone else is alive and you're not, it's close to impossible. The kids at Oakvale High don't want to take classes or eat in the cafeteria next to someone who isn't breathing. And there are no laws to protect the differently biotic from the people who want them to disappear- for good.
With her pale skin and goth wardrobe, Phoebe has never run with the popular crowd. But no one can believe it when she falls for Tommy Williams, the leader of the dead kids. Not her best friend, Margi, whose fear of the differently biotic is deeply rooted in guilt over the past. And especially not her neighbor, Adam, the star of the football team. Recently, Adam has realized that his feelings for Phoebe run much deeper than friendship. He would do anything for her, but what if protecting Tommy is the one thing that would make her happy?

This book is a great fusion of zombies and high school life. Daniel Waters made it so true as to what would happen if teenagers came back from the dead, will they? The characters in the book were created very well, at the end of the book I actually felt that I had knew Pheobe and all the other characters all my life or death... I really don't have a favorite character in this book, I loved them all. But if I had to choose I would probably pick Adam or Pheobe or Margi or Tommy or Karen or every other character in the book. I would keep going on about this book, but I would probably end up giving away some main parts in the book. My last words: GO BUY IT NOW!

~*~ This book is for 12 year olds and up. ~*~

Saturday, June 28, 2008


written by: Ally Carter

pages: 284

my rating 1-5 stars-
3~4 stars

Cammie Morgan isn’t what meets the eye. If you saw her on the street you wouldn’t think that much of her. But that is her talent being a “pavement artist”, which is one of the many things taught at Gallagher Academy For Exceptional Young Women. Which isn’t a normal boarding school, it is a boarding school that teaches daughters of spies from the United States, with a few exceptions. They still have classes that a normal teenager would, like PE and foreign languages. But there is a twist to their curriculum, seeing that a normal teenager wouldn’t learn to kill a man seven ways with just using their two hands. And they wouldn’t be taught 14 different languages, which they have to speak a different one at every meal.
There is just one important language that Cammie wishes that they would teach there, how to talk to a boy. When out side of the campus practicing how to follow a spy with out being caught, Cammie runs into a normal boy, who actually noticed her! No one ever notices Cammie, especially when she doesn’t want to be. After that she starts sneaking off the highly secured campus, to meet with him. But all the time she is wondering how she can keep up the relationship with out telling him about who she really is.

This book was pretty good. Not as good as the Alex Rider books though. And that’s because it wasn’t as action packed. Thought on the bright side it was funny and Ally Carter did keep me hooked to the pages. One thing I really liked is how cool the school is with all the technology and security. I would love to go to a school like the one in the book (except for it would have to be coed because I am a guy and I wouldn’t be able to go there if it was only for girls). I now know that I am going to purchase the second book in the series (once my wallet lets me). I recommend this book to any one that likes spy books or books about teens. It is also an easy read for the beach or a long trip.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008


“You think people leave this earth when they die, but they don’t. Nothing is finished. Not really.” (Quote from book)

written by: Brooke Taylor

pages: 320 (approx.)

releases to a bookstore near you:
July 22nd. 2008

my rating:
5 stars!!!!!

Serena Moore isn’t the most popular or most beautiful girl at the school. Kori Kitzler on the other hand is, that is until that day in eighth grade when Kori tells Serena that they have more in common then she might think. That short meeting in the bathroom brought Kori and Serena to be best of friends. There are so many rumors going around about Kori that Serena isn’t sure what to believe.
Serena’s mom and her friends don’t seem thrilled that she is hanging out with Kori the “dark angel”, who gets Serena involved in smoking, drugs and other stuff that Serena normally wouldn’t do. One day in Serena’s favorite class they are asked to write a list of five things that they hope might happen during the school term, “Their five ways to tempt fate.” Serena takes this assignment as a joke, her five things that she writes down aren’t that important.
When something immensely catastrophic happens to Kori, Serena finds out that Kori took the assignment far more seriously then her. Serena feels as though she has been left alone on this earth, and all she has are the list of five things that Kori wanted to complete. Serena is faced by many challenges that she normally wouldn’t complete, and that Kori would, while she struggles to make sure that Kori’s list isn’t left undone…

This book and I were inseparable! It was amazing, staggering, and very much so tremendous! At the beginning of the book I was thinking “this is a good book” but after the 4th chapter I was thinking “This isn’t just a good book it’s a wonderful book”. It was full of funny, and disconsolate [drink] moments. One thing I especially liked about this book is that Brooke Taylor wrote about the high school life as it truly is. My most favorite character in this sensational book would have to be Kori. She was herself she didn’t have the fear to do something. If you dared her to do something, she would do it right then, that second.
I would recommend this book to every teen out there, it is not one of those books that are “girly”. Actually I would recommend this book to adults too. One lesson I learned out of this book is to live everyday like it could be your last. So go on Amazon or any other book site and reserve your copy of Undone, this absolutely wonderful book will not disappoint you.

~*~ Due to content in this book I do not recommend that anyone under the age of 14 read this book.~*~

P.S For those who do not know why I put [drink] in my review, you need to read the book to find out!

Friday, June 20, 2008


"From the top you can seee everything... except yourself."

written by: Jenniafer Banash

pages: 237

my rating 1-5 stars:

4 stars!!!!

Casey McCloy is moving to New York to live with her grandmother while her mom goes to England to work on her book. When Casey steps into The Bramford, one of the most luxurious apartment buildings in New York, she is in shock, she can't believe how different this is compared to her old home, Normal, Illinios.
Right away she meets the most popular and beautiful girl in town, Madison Macallister. At first she thinks that Madison and her friends are very hounding. But then after talking to madison she thinks that there might be a slight cahnce that they could become friends. Madison invites Casey to hang out with her in the park, Central Park that is. When she finds madison at the park with her friends, Sophie and Phoebe, who seem a lot friendlier than Madison. It seems like Casey is going to become great friends with Madison. That is until Drew, the guy that was/is involved with Madison, shows up at the park unexpectedly. Now it seems that Drew might even have feelings for Casey! Before school starts, Casey goes shopping with her new frenemy Madison. When she gets to the store she realizes that every thing costs way too much for her. She alos starts thinking that there will be no way she will be able to fit in at her new school...
Okay, so at first I was very skeptical about reading this book because it is more for a girl audience. But I decided to read it anyways because "What is the harm in reading a book?" So the day I got it in the mail I started it and by the very first page, no sentence, I was hooked! This book wasn't as 'girly' as I thought t would be, even though there were some girly parts. What really got me so hooked into this amazing book was how the characters were so wonderfullycreated. My favorite character was Drew. Banash did an exceptionally wonderful job of creating him. I could really relate to what he was going through and why he seemed so confused. I could keep talking about why I liked Drew but then I would end up giving the book away...
So the only thing I thought was bad about this book is that I have to wait a few months to get IN TOO DEEP, the sequal to THE ELITE. I just know that I will fully enjoy it as much as I did reading THE ELITE. I would recommend this book to any teen, girl or guy, who likes a calming read that will make you laugh and relate your life to waht the characters are going through.

I want to give a HUGE thank you to the wonderfull Jennifer Banash for giving me the chance to read this amazing book!

~*~ Due to content in this book, I do not recommend it t any one under the age of 14.~*~

Thursday, June 19, 2008


"Some friends fade away....Others disappear."

written by: Jennifer Bradbury

pages: 242

my rating 1-5 stars:

4 stars

Christopher Collins just graduated from High School. His mom wants him to get a summer job just like everyone else but Chris has bigger plans for the summer. Him and his best friend, Win, are going to ride their bikes all the way from West Virginia to Seattle, where Win's uncle lives. When their parents somewhat say yes, they get packed to leave right after they graduate.
The trip starts off great. When they can't find a legal campground they scamp. Which is when they camp on someone's property with out permission. They even start a game where they have to swim in the next body of water they pass, and it doesn't matter if it's a clean lake or sewage. Everything is going goo until, Win abandons Chris when he gets a flat. Chris is pissed off.
Chris starts college, no word form Win yet. Win's parents don't even know where he is. Chris's world shifts as the FBI starts asking questions, and Win's dad starts blaming Chris for the disappearance of his son.

This was a great book. Jennifer Bradbury kept me attached to every page until the last one.  I really like the way she wrote the book with every other chapter a flash back to the trip. I kept trying to guess the ending but I never got it right. I really liked the ending, it answered all my questions and it doesn't leave you hanging. 
This book is full of laughter, but it also has a lot of serious situations. Shift deals with friends, love, and self-discovery. Shift is an amazing book and I recommend it to every one! 

Monday, June 16, 2008


"He was also the last person to see your parents alive," Brooke went on.  "He was actually with them the morning they died." (quote from book)

written by: Anthony Horowitz

pages: 388

my rating 1-5 stars: 

5 stars!!!!!

~*~ Warning: This review may contain spoilers for other books in the Alex Rider Series that come before Snakehead.~*~

After blowing up the space hotel Ark Angel , Alex Rider crashes back down to Earth. After recovering his muscles from the shock of being in zero gravity, he is asked to go on another mission. But this time it isn't MI6 Special Operations that is asking him, it is the Australian Secret Intelligence Service department known as Covert Action. At first Alex is cautious about accepting the mission until he is told that he will be working with an agent named Ash. Alex's guardian, Jack, tells Alex that Ash is his godfather. And that he was the last one to see Alex's parents, alive. Thinking that he will be able to learn more about his parents and his past, Alex accepts his most challenging mission yet. 
When Alex meets up with Ash in Bangkok they are transformed into an Afghan father and son trying to be smuggled in to Australia by a snakehead, a dangerous group whose leader is Major Yu. Major Yu is also one of the leaders of Scorpia, a group of ex-spies from all over the world. What Alex doesn't know is that Major Yu knows that Alex is 'undercover' and he is toying with him as he puts Alex into many life-threatening situations.

Anthony Horowitz has created another non stop action mission for Alex Rider. It is full of cool gadgets, awesome fighting scenes, and many unexpected surprises. This book, in my opinion, is tied with Scorpia for being the best book in the Alex Rider Series. This is because I really liked all the twists in this book. When I thought everything was going good for Alex, something totally unexpected would pop up and then i was back to biting (figure of speech) my nails wondering if Alex would get out of another sticky situation, alive. 
Now that I have finished the book i am wondering if Anthony will write about another mission Alex takes on? 
I have also heard a rumor that there will be another Alex Rider movie, and that Anthony Horowitz plans on having all 7 books made into movies. Hopefully this is true. 

Sunday, June 15, 2008


Jennifer Banash is giving away a copy of her newest book,  THE ELITE. To enter the contest to get a chance to read this book go to Jennifer's myspace.

I have not read or reviewed this book, yet, I will be getting a copy soon. I have heard great things about it though. I hope to have the book read and the review (which will be in a different perspective than other reviews for this book because I am a guy) later on this month.

To find out more about THE ELITE go to the book's website.

~*~ I am not hosting this contest so do not comment on this post to get you name in the contest. Go to Jennifer's myspace (link above) to enter the contest.~*~

Wednesday, June 11, 2008


"That's all you've got to do," I said. "Flush and flush often."

written by: Carl Hiaasen

pages: 263

my rating 1-5 stars:
4 stars

Noah Underwood's dad is known for over reacting. This time his over reacting has landed himself in jail. Even though he was trying to stop the Coral Queen, a local and very profitable casino yacht, from dumping it's waste illegally into local waters. But instead of calling the coast guard, he decided to sink the boat. This did nothing to stop the casino, the boat was repaired the next day. It only landed him in jail. No one but his family and a few friends will believe Paine Underwood. 
Noah decides to follow his dad's footsteps with his sisters help and stop the illegal dumping into the local swimming waters that causes local beaches to be closed and could kill off the fish and turtles. Along the way he finds out that he is up against, the local bullies, 400 pound bouncers, the coast guard, and the media. 

Hiaasen has written another great book about how one person can truly make a difference. This book is slightly related to his other book Hoot, which was made into a motion picture. 
This book was a good book that made me laugh here and there, even though it is written for elementary and middle school students. This is a book that you are able to put down for a little bit and come back to it. 
I suggest this book to anyone that would like a very easy, and calm read. It is a great book to read at the pool or beach because it doesn't require much thought.

Will Noah come up with a plan that will prove that the owner of the Coral Queen is the one that should be in jail?

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Get Well Soon

written by: Julie Halpern

pages: 193

my rating 1-5 stars:

4 stars!

Anna Bloom's parents drop her off at the closest mental hospital, just because Anna is depressed. At the loony bin Anna meets a lot of teens that are insane, unlike her. But she also makes friends with a guy that might not even get out of the loony bin till he dies, a guy that is shy who might like her, and a girl that becomes her roommate and best friend.

Sorry for the summary being so short. But since it was a short book (only 193 pages) I couldn't write more because I would give the book away. This book made me laugh continuously! Anna finds humor in everything that is done in the hospital.
Julie Halpern did a great job of creating Anna Bloom. I felt like I knew Anna the second I started reading the book.
I recommend this book to any teen that wants a fun easy read (which is great because it is the summer). And to teens that love a book that will make them laugh non-stop.

~Due to content in the book I do not recommend anyone under the age 14 read this book.~

Sunday, June 8, 2008

Jellicoe Road

written by: Melina Marcheta

releases to the public: August 26th 2008

pages: 432

my rating 1-5 stars:

5 stars!!!!

Taylor Markham was abandoned by her mother at a gas station on Jellicoe Road when she was only eleven years old. And the only thing she remembers about her father is being carried on his shoulders.
Now, Taylor is seventeen years old and a senior at the boarding school that is on Jellicoe Road and she still knows nothing about her past or her parents. On her spare time she tries to figure out more about her past while trying to deal with the territory war going on between her boarding school the "Cadets" and the "Townies". She starts getting clues about her mysterious past when a supervisor at the school, who knew Taylor's mother goes missing. At every clue she becomes closer to discovering more about herself.

Wow, Melina Marchetta grabbed me at the first page and I was fully immersed into the eventful life of Taylor Markham. This book was a great book to read, it gave you a touch of everything, love, family, mystery and faith.
This book is one of my favorite books in the world. I could not put it down or part with it. It has parts that will make you laugh, mad, cry and smile. This book is a must read for every teen out there. This is not a book specifically written for a certain gender audience, it is for guys and girls.

This book is written for teens and adults. Due to content in the book I would not suggest anyone under the age of 14 read this book.

Friday, June 6, 2008

A quick look into the Summer!!

This is a post about what I plan on posting about this summer, remember anything that I say here is subject to change.
Here are some pre-realese books I will review on:
~Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (in stores on the 26th of August)
~Undone by Brooke Taylor (in stores on July 22nd)

Other books I will be reivewing (there will be more than these):

~Flush by Carl Hiaasen
~ Get Well Soon by Julie Halpern
~Chasing Vermeera by Blue Balliett
~ The Elite by Jennifer Banash
* I look forward to writting a review for this book because it is a book for girls and since I am a guy my review will have a whole different perspective on the book, so keep checking in for this review.*

I am also hoping on posting two exclusive author interviews. I will post more information on these interviews later on during the summer.

I am still working on the "why do you read?" interview for this month. Also, I am still looking for a reader to interview for July. So email me at if you wouldn't mind me interviewing you.

Thanks and keep coming back to look at more great book reviews!


July is now taken, but August is still availible

Thursday, June 5, 2008

Prince Caspian

written by: C.S Lewis

pages: 223

my rating 1-5 stars:

3 stars


Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy Pevensie are all packed and ready to go away to separate boarding schools. Peter and Edmund will be going to a boys boarding school. While the girls will be going to a girl's boarding school. That is until they all take a unexpected detour at the train station. Magic from Susan's horn calls them back to Narnia. They soon find out that time has past quickly and that hundreds of years have past since they left the magical country. Now the country is ruled by King Miraz a ruler of the Telmariens, which are humans that came and conquered the Old Narnia form Telmar.
However, the rightful king of Narnia is Prince Caspian, Miraz's nephew. Caspian has been in hiding from the malevolent King and the army of Telmariens. He has started a small rebellion with dwarfs, centaurs, giants, and even talking mice, who all are decedents of the Old Narnians. So as the Pevensies try to travel through forest to Caspian's aid, the King becomes stronger. Will the Pevensies be able to help Caspian gain his righteous throne?

This was a good relaxing read. It was a very quick read too. However, it was a little bit boring. There is very little conversation and action. I mean, there are parts where there are a lot of action and talking but that only happens like once or twice. The reason I read it was because I plan on seeing the movie soon and I wanted to read the book beforehand so I can compare the two.
You can tell that this book was written a while back, just from the way the characters talk. There are words used in this book that have a very different meaning nowadays. So I recommend that if you read this remember that the words had a different meaning back then.
This was a good book to read once. A elementary student probably would get bored of reading it. It is a book that is made more for young adults.


Summer is finally here! I just got out of school! I feel so relieved!

Now I can read all the time. This summer I will be going to Massachusetts, but no worries I will be blogging regularly! So keep coming to my blog to learn about great books!!

My goal is to post at least once every other day! but I know I will probably bloging more than that! So keep checking in and email me!

I am looking for a reader to interview for the month of July! If you are interested please email me a.s.a.p,

Thanks and happy readings!


Wednesday, June 4, 2008


written by: Eva Ibbotson

pages: 195

my rating 1-5 stars:

3.75 stars


Fulton and Frieda Snoddle-Brittle have just got great news, they inherited Helton, a mansion, from their distant cousin Donald Snoddle-Brittle. That is until their lawyer tells them that the true heir of Helton has been found at an orphanage. Furious that they don't get the mansion they look after Oliver in Helton while his guardian is off exploring in another country. While going to the mansion after picking Oliver up from the orphanage, Fulton sees a store with the sign labeled Adopt-A-Ghost. He suddenly gets a peccant plan. A plan to get rid of Oliver and become the owner of the mansion. He "adopts" the nastiest pair of ghosts the agency will give him, the Shriekers. Just looking at their abhorrent clothes, stained with blood would give anyone a scare. And that is just what Fulton wants, to "scare" Oliver to death. But thankfully a mix-up at the agency causes a much more friendlier group of ghosts to arrive. The Wilkinsons bond with Oliver immediately, now he doesn't feel lonely and afraid anymore. But unfortunately this doesn't put a stop to the Snoddle-Brittle's schemes.

This book is all about how powerful friends and families can be. I had this book sitting on my bookshelf, untouched for the longest time and since I read other books by Eva Ibbotson, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed at any time when reading this book.

The reason I rated it a 3.75 is because this book is more for middle schoolers and younger but I do believe that every reader should read it. Just because of the morals and lessons you can get out of it. I recommend it to you because it is a book you can read in a few hours or so and you will not regret picking it up.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

To: Authors and Publishers

Do you want to promote your book on my blog? If you would like to promote your book in any of these ways email me and I will work with you to promote you book!


Do you have a book that you would like me to review? If you do then I will gladly review it for you! And in the review I will put a link to your website. All you have to do is email me and I will reply with my address (so you can send me the book), and when I get the book I will put it on the top of my to read list!


I will appreciated it very much if you would let me do an interview with you! I know that readers love to learn more about the authors that write their favorite books. And again I will put a link to your website on the interview. All you have to do is send me an quick and easy email! I would really like to start putting up a monthly interview with an author, so please email me right away. One note on this, I do do interviews with authors whose book I haven't read but you have to acknowledge that I probably won't be able to ask that many questions about your book in particular in the interview.


Would you like me to advertise you or your book on my blog? Do you have a countdown for your soon-to-be-released books? I will gladly do this for you! But due to space reasons, I might have to say no because I don't want my blog to be over filled. But don't hesitate to email me! I also volunteer at my local library, so if you have book marks or posters that you would like me to put up in the library. I would be most grateful to do so.


I will gladly host a contest for your book or prize bag! I know that readers like myself love to win books! All you have to is email me and I will give you my address, so you can send me the book or whatever you would like me to put in the contest! I will also put a link to your website of the contest! Just email me and we can work out the details.


P.S Do you have another idea for me to promote your book? If you do, please email me!

The Battle Of The Labyrinth

written by: Rick Riordan

pages: 361

my rating 1-5 stars:

5 stars!!!


*~*Warning this contains slight spoilers for the books, The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters and The Titan's Curse*~*

Percy is going to yet another school orientation. Even though the school knows about his pasts school records, Goode High School accepted him. All because of his mom's boy friend, Paul Blofis, who is an English teacher at the school. When he gets dropped off at the school he notices a familiar mortal face. Avoiding her he goes onto the side way, where he meets two cheerleaders welcoming the new freshman. Percy senses that something was strange about one of them. The orientation ends with a BANG as the band room explodes due to Percy battling some empousai , vampire -like creatures. Running away from the confusion Percy runs into his half-blood friend, Annabeth. He tells her what happened and they immediately go to Camp Half-Blood. At camp they find out that Mr. D is on leave and he has been replaced by a mysterious hero that has a hell hound as a pet.
In this penultimate book of the series Percy and his friends must embark on the most dangerous quest, through the Labyrinth. They need to stop Luke from rebuilding Kronos, the evil Titan Lord, and from marching Kronos's army right into Camp Half-Blood. Along the way they battle more monsters and search for the lost Pan.

This is the best book in the series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, yet! It is an easy read that is full of non-stop action and suspense. It is probably the most funniest book in this series. I can't wait until the last book comes out!
Even though this series might be more for middle schoolers, it is great for every one.

Monday, June 2, 2008

The Titan's Curse

"... my mom packed me an overnight bag and a few deadly weapons and took me to a new boarding school."

written by: Rick Riordan

pages: 311

my rating 1-5 stars:

5 stars!!

*~*Warning this contains spoilers for the books The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters
Percy Jackson has received an urgent call from Groover. He immediately contacts Thalia (daughter of Zeus) and Annabeth (daughter of Athena) , and asks them to go to Westover Hall, the boarding school Groover is stationed at. When the agree he tells them to pack their weapons and for them to be prepared for a battle.
When they arrive at Westover Hall Groover tells them that he has found not one but two fellow demigods that are very powerful. Percy realizes that they it is essential that they get them to Camp Half-Blood immediately. But there is just one problem, there is an extremely dangerous monster keeping an extremely close eye on the two half-bloods. When they return to camp, they learn that Luke is hunting a monster that, if he catches it, will enable him to take down the gods. On this adventure Percy travels to the Hoover dam, befriends an aquatic animal that looks like a pet, and has to face the Titans Curse.

Harry Potter is no match for Percy Jackson!

These books keep getting better and better! This book was so far the best in the series Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Once I finished this book I couldn't wait to start reading the next book in the series, The Battle of the Labyrinth, which is the penultimate book in the series. Oh! By the way I was doing some researching and I found out that The Lightning Thief is going to start filming for the big screen in 2009!! I can't wait until that movie comes out!

My First Time being Tagged!!!

I was tagged by Midnight Twilight.

Rules: Link to the person that tagged you, post the rules somewhere in your meme, answer the questions, tag six people in your post, let the tagees know they’ve been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog, let the tagger know your entry is posted.

1. Who’s your all-time favorite author, and why?

I would have to say Mary Higgins Clark because not one of her books (mysteries) have bored me. They keep me reading until I finish the book. She is a great author.

2. Who was your first favorite author, and why? Do you still consider him or her among your favorites?

That would have to be J.K Rowling because once I read the first Harry Potter book I was hooked! I had to get every single one of them the day it came out! Yes i do still consider her one of my favorites.

3. Who’s the most recent addition to your list of favorite authors, and why?

Rick Riordan, because I just feel in love with the series Percy Jackson and the Olympians. He is a great writer and I am definitively going to read his other books in the future.

4. If someone asked you who your favorite authors were right now, which authors would first pop out of your mouth? Are there any you’d add on a moment of further reflection?

I would say Rick Riordan and Mary Higgins Clark. No there isn't, these two authors are by far tow of the best.

I am tagging:

Book Worm
Mrs. Magoo
The Compulsive Reader

The Story Siren
Squeaky Books
The Wind is Free

Tag You are it!

Sunday, June 1, 2008

The Sea of Monsters

Written by: Rick Riordan


My rating 1-5 stars:

5 stars!!


*~*Warning this review may have very slight spoilers for the book The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan*~*

In the sequel to The Lightning Thief, we meet Percy once again in a different school. His seventh grade year has been tranquil. There have been no life threatening encounters with monsters. He has met yet another best friend, Tyson.
Every thing is going great... until the last day of school. The day was exam day. his teachers had some interesting exams planed. He had to survive a whole class on the playground and in science he blew up his chemicals in under 30 seconds. Then came gym class, the teacher told them they were going to play dodge ball and assigned Percy and the school bully, Matt Sloan. Percy noticed something was strange about the new group of kids that were hanging out with Sloan, but he didn't know what. That is until one of them calls him Perseus, the name that only his friends from Camp Half-Blood and his enemies knew...

If you liked The Lightning Thief then you will surely love the sequel. This book has parts that will make you laugh out loud, cry and shock you. Rick Riordan has created a lot of parts in this book that will have a lasting impact on Percy's life. In this book you will discover more about Percy's family, and his future.
The series Percy Jackson and The Olympians is a great read for all ages. You will not be disappointed if you read this series.

Another Challenge!!

So I was looking at different challenges because I wanted to do another one and I found this one! To complete this challenge you must read 12 young adult books by the end of December 2008! I can't wait to start reading! I am not sure yet what books I will read but I will start a list ASAP.

1. Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt
2. Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt
3. Scorpia by Anthony Horowitz
4. The Witch Trade by Michael Molly
5. If I should Die Before I Wake by Han Nolan
6. Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis

To join this contest click here.

If you have any suggestions on books please email me or comment this post.